investors making waves
for new canadian plays


Touchstone has presented over 104 Canadian plays from emerging and established writers.

Many of those were new works and launched the careers of prominent Canadian playwrights.

Now we're changing the model for how new plays are made and playwrights are paid.

New plays are often made by unpaid playwrights. Thousands of writing hours typically goes unpaid unless their script's selected for programming, when a royalty covers a fraction of the time required to write the actual script.

The New Crew is for anyone wanting to invest in the people who make new plays.

Every dollar donated by The New Crew is invested directly into playwright residencies, commissions, and creation time.

Please call us at (604) 709-9973 to make your donation via credit card or to find out more about opportunities to donate as an individual or company. 

Or you can donate online though

All New Crew Members Get:

  • A charitable tax receipt.
  • Acknowledgement in our house programs and website.
  • Exclusive news and updates on new plays considered for programming.
  • Invitations to Member-only workshop readings of work-in-development.


Bonnie Mah
The McGrane-Pearson Endowment Fund (courtesy of Ken Gracie and Philip Waddell)
David Vogt and Tracy Proke

The Paul Butler and Chris Black Foundation
James Mactier
Sandra Marquardt

Judith Coffin
Elisabeth Hall
Ian Farthing
Jane Flick & Robert Heidbreder
Marcella Helmer
Jane Heyman & Lionel Johnston
Elaine McHarg
Christine Rondeau
Sally Stubbs
Glynis Whiting
Deborah Williams
Denalda Marlyn Williams

Up to $99
Dawn Brennan
William Davis
Roger Holdstock
Sharon Kahn
Tracey Power
Amy Lynn Strilchuk
Sean Vanderfluit
Jerry Wasserman
Audrey Zaharichuk

Charitable # 12699 1223 R0001