The Lawyer Show 2004

Inherit the Wind by Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee

Inherit The Wind

by Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee
April 16 & 17, 2004
The Stanley Theatre

Inherit the Wind by Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee, is loosely based on the infamous “monkey” trials of 1925, disputing a state law that banned the teaching of evolution in the classroom, and a young teacher’s knowing infringement of that law. This twelve-day trial in the middle of a scorching July pits two titan lawyers representing the giants of religious fundamentalism and Darwinian science in a Herculean clash.

The Cast

Tricia Auton, WCB
Alan Baggish, Bertoldi & Co.
Jessica Berglund, WCB
Dave Bilinsky, The Law Society of B.C.
Hamish Cameron, Bull, Housser & Tupper
Camille Cianiello, ICBC
Anne Clark, Crown Counsel
Rod Hayley, Lawson Lundell
Lorne Herlin, B.C. Securities Commission
Scott Johnston, Koffman Kalef
Valerie Kan, Singleton Urquhart
Karla Koles, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin
Gerard Law, Singleton Urquhart
Greg Lanning, Cochran Bradshaw
Jerry Lecovin, Lecovin & Company
Garth Loeppky, Crown Counsel
Garry MacDonald, sole practitioner
Daniel MaLeod, McKitrick Clark McLeod
Rod Nagel, The Health Employers
Julie Owen, Hunter Voith
Darlene Patrick, Justice Canada
Jim Poyner, Poyner Baxter
Rob Ruttan, Crown Counsel
Andrea Spence, Crown Counsel
Karen A. Truscott, Justice Canada
Seema Tuit, Grant Kovacs Norell
Brian J. Wallace, Lawson Lundell

Brian Wallace & Jessica Berglund

The Creative Team

Director, Katrina Dunn
Assistant Director, John Murphy
Stage Manager, Sydney Cavanagh
Assistant Stage Manager, Valerie Shapiro

The Special Guests

Rose Mary Basham Liu, Q.C.
UBC Dean Mary Anne Bobinski
Writer William Deverell
Gail Dickson, Q.C.
Chief Justice Lance Finch
Jack Giles,Q.C.
Judge T. Gove
Susan Griffin
CBC Anchor Ian Hanomansing
Allan McEachern
Madam Justice M. Newbury
Mr. Justice W. Oppal
Glen Orris, Q.C.
Dale Pope, Q.C
Patricia Proudfoot
Judge J. Rounthwaite
Angela Thiele
Warren Wilson, Q.C.

The Sponsors

Alexander Holburn Beaudin & Lang
Appeals Unlimited
Blake Cassels & Graydon LLP
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
CaseSoft Ltd.
CLE Society of BC
CTEC Security Solutions Inc.
Dye & Durham Company Inc.
Farris Vaughan Wills & Murphy
Holt Renfrew Vancouver
Lindsay Kenney
McKellar Group
ProGroup Sales & Leasing Inc.
Taylor Veinotte Sullivan Barristers
The Vancouver Bar Association
ZSA Legal Recuitment