The Lawyer Show 2003

The Government Inspector by Nikolai Gogol          
by Nikolai Gogol
April 25 & 26, 2003
The Stanley Theatre                     

The Government Inspector is a hilarious comedy about government corruption and incompetence in small town Russia circa 1839. The Governor receives word that Petersburg is sending a government inspector to evaluate the town's officials. A comedy of errors ensues as the Governor and his men desperately struggle to cover-up the corruption and stifle public dissatisfaction while speculating as to who the inspector might be. Inevitably, they mistakenly identify a transient swindler as the inspector and make outrageous efforts to charm and entertain their guest. But who is the real Government Inspector?

The Government Inspector - Touchstone Theatre 2003

The Cast

Hamish Cameron Q.C., Bull, Housser & Tupper
Melanie Cheesman, Bull, Housser & Tupper
Camille Ciarniello, Bull, Housser & Tupper
Karen Douglas, Harper Grey Easton
Kerrie Everitt, McCarthy Tétrault LLP
Carol Fleischhaker, Ministry of the Attorney General
Rod Hayley, Lawson Lundell
Lorne Herlin, BC Securities Commission
Scott Johnston, Koffman Kalef Business Lawyers
Thea Koshman, Alexander, Holburn, Beaudin & Lang
Miriam Kresivo, Chevron Canada Ltd
Gerald Lecovin Q.C., Lecovin and Company
Ken Manning, Department of Justice Canada
Daniel McLeod, McKitrick Clark McLeod
Mandana Namazi, Department of Justice Canada
John Noble, Young Noble
Darlene Patrick, Department of Justice Canada
Jim Poyner, Poyner Baxter
Arthur Ross, Pryke Lambert Leathley Russell
Deborah Satanove, B.C. Supreme Court
Vanessa J. Soon, Ministry of the Attorney General
Andrea Spence, Ministry of the Attorney General
Seema Tuit, Grant Kovacs Norell
Brian J. Wallace Q.C., Lawson Lundell
Joni Worton, Taylor Wray, Business Lawyers

Touchstone Theatre - 2003 Lawyer Show

The Creative Team

Director, Katrina Dunn
Assistant Director, John Murphy
Stage Manager, Jeffrey Hsu
Assistant Stage Manager, Jean Paul Bouchard
Set Design, Ted Roberts

The Special Guests

Rose Mary Liu Basham Q.C.
Gail M. Dickson Q.C.
Honourable Mr. Justice William A. Esson
Honourable Chief Justice Lance Finch
William C. Kaplan, Q.C.
Joyce C. M. Maykut Q.C.
Allan McEachern
Honourable Mr. Justice Wallace T. Oppal
Honourable Geoff Plant
Dale B. Pope Q.C.
Honourable Patricia Proudfoot
Debra L. Sing Q.C.
Angela Thiele
Glenn A. Urquhart Q.C.
Warren T. Wilson Q.C.

The Sponsors

Alexander Holburn Beaudin & Lang
Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Lindsay Kenney
Taylor Veinotte Sullivan Barristers
Vancouver Bar Association
ZSA Legal Recruitment

The Government Inspector - Touchstone Theatre 2003